Confessions of a teenager

By Laura Díez Álava

There’s a moment in your life when, apart from “Hi! How are you?”, one of the phrases you hear the most is:

“And you, what do you want to be when you grow up?”.

Me?

I´m not going to answer something like: “A psychologist”, “a doctor”, “an attorney”, “an architect, like my dad”…

No.

Sincerely, I am glad for these people that have their ideas so clear but in my opinion beautiful, special and perfect things don’t need to be planned. And yes, I also have some clear ideas and I know perfectly how to answer that question, of course I do. It´s not too complicated, or maybe I don´t over-complicate it as I should.

“What do I want to be when I grow up?”

Easy: HAPPY. Yes, happy. That´s all. I don´t look forward to something really complicated. I just want a reason to smile every day, feel proud of myself, look at the mirror and smile, not accept “no” as an answer, make everyone that used to say “you´ll never reach it” see that they were mistaken, be able to say “that was a dream I had since I was very small… and now I fulfilled it”, make sure that people who I love never forget me.

But, over all that, I want to be happy.

Anyway, it doesn’t matter.

“What do you want to be when you grow up?” is just a question; “happy” is more than an answer.

Leave a Reply

